Dang! Missed NaNoWriMo again!

If you’re like me, special dates creep up on you: birthdays, anniversaries, the absolute last day to register the car for another year. When it comes to writing, I have to juggle my writing time with the time I spend at work. I’m as organized as I’m ever going to be, so some things just slip through the cracks.

But how in heck does a person miss a whole month? I’m talking about National Novel Writing Month, commonly called NaNoWriMo. Once again, I’m as unprepared as can be to write the 1700 words a day for 30 days to hit the 50,000 word goal. I don’t even bother to register.

Why?

This year I was doing the final edits for my WIP that is finally being submitted to agents. Last year I was returning to work after heart surgery, and my concentration was blasted. The year before that, I was turning my WIP inside out after realizing a better story would come from a secondary character than the main character.

You’d think that I could at least spend the other 11 months of the year preparing. Yeah, right. You know how that goes. I’m no better.

So I am resigned to the working on my new project, sending out the rest of my submissions, dreaming about hitting it big, and and getting back to writing a thousand words a day.

To all my NaNoWriMo friends: Good Luck! See ya in 2013.

How do you NaNoWriMo?

Leave a Reply

