New directions in blogging

Over the past few months I’ve taken a sabbatical from writing and blogging. My world was turned upside down, as it were, when a career lifeline was thrown my way.

newspapersI have been a journalist my entire working life – the part that starts after quitting college and part-time jobs. I enlisted in the Navy as a journalist, learned reporting and editing and photography and pubic affairs, and spent five years telling the Navy’s story. Then I graduated from the University of Kansas with a degree in journalism. From that time on, I’ve worked for a variety of publications, and exclusively for newspapers since 1996.

Up until this past January I worked at a newspaper that imploded due to strife between its publisher and the staff and a once-good newspaper is now a pokey little publication treated as an afterthought by the owners. I was watching my career die as a part of that news team.

But that ended with a new job in a new state with a company that read the tea leaves of today’s media economic realities and developed a plan to remain viable.

I’m back from sabbatical. One of the things I decided to do was split my journalism and my fiction writing into two blogs. So if you come to visit to know more about my Shig Sato mystery series, I have some blogs saved on here, but all the news stuff is at josephmarkbrewer.wordpress.com. That’s where the mysteries, flash fiction, and trials and travails of being an indie author-preneur will reside.

Once upon a time I wrote a column for a newspaper called Brave New Deadline. I’m once again taking up that job: comments, criticism, essays, or whatever comes to mind.

My good friend Jim refers to me as a news man and a mystery writer. May I live up to both honorable monikers.

 

Leave a Reply

